Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Don't forget: Effective Legislative Advocacy Strategies May 29

Advocates for Families First is offering a series of free webinars designed for leaders of support groups and organizations that work with kinship, foster, and adoptive families. The fourth session will be Effective Legislative Advocacy Strategies May 29 at 1 p.m. EST (10 a.m. PST; 11 a.m. MST; 12 p.m. CST).

In this session, participants will be introduced to the successful Florida advocacy effort to create a more supportive and normative growing up experience for children and youth in foster care through passage of the “normalcy bill,” which allows for foster and kin caregivers to make prudent parental decisions about activities that their foster and kin children participate in, without having to seek the approval of the child welfare agency. Presenters will share:

  • The strategic planning process;
  • Shaping the message;
  • Necessary and effective steps in being “heard” by legislators;
  • Identifying and engaging community partners; and
  • Youth and adult partnerships.

Robin Rosenberg, deputy director of Florida’s Children First, Inc.; Geori Berman, coordinator of Florida Youth Shine; and Florida Youth Shine youth members will present the session.

The webinar will be recorded, so even if you can't make it in person, you can benefit from the training. Simply register as usual and after the session is over, a link will be sent to everyone who was not able to attend.

Register for Effective Legislative Advocacy Strategies here.

No comments:

Post a Comment